It’s a true Eastern Wisconsin Conference in 2019 as the Chilton baseball team faces some new teams on the diamond, namely neighborhood rivals New Holstein and Kiel. Coach Dan Criter’s Tigers are very deep and figure to be a title contender.
Here is the Tiger baseball preview:

Head Coach
- Dan Criter

2018 RECORD- 8-9 overall; 5-4 in Big East Conference (4th Place).

2018 REVIEW:
Mother Nature made for a shortened season with a pair of April blizzards. The conference schedule was cut in half because of it. The season ended with a tough, 6-5 regional defeat at Sturgeon Bay. Seniors were Sam Friederichs, Peyton Meyer and Alex Pagel.
Outfielder Zach Boehnlein and catcher Jake Criter were both First Team All-Conference selections. Boehnlein was one of four unanimous picks on the First Team. He was third in EWC batting at .448 and belted five home runs. He was a repeat First Teamer from 2017. Criter’s solid defense behind the dish and his robust .349 batting average with two home runs led him to his honor. He was honorable mention in 2017.
Second Team honors went to infielder Cole Woelfel. Woelfel’s .390 average ranked him eighth in the conference and pitcher Will Kapral was Honorable Mention.

2019 PREVIEW: This may be the season the Tigers have been waiting for. After a couple of seasons of youth, Chilton has a wealth of experience all over the diamond led by the return of Boehnlein, Criter, Woefel and Kapral. All four are pitchers on top of regular fielding positions.
Brady Glidden returns as a first baseman while Joey Boehnlein returns at shortstop and Ryan Broeckel at third. Nathan Kaplon is also back on the left side of the infield. Sean Meyer anchors an experienced outfield along with Alek Lemke.
Newcomers fill out the remainder of a 17-player varsity roster.
No more Menasha St. Mary on the schedule as the elimination of summer WIAA baseball causes realignment in the spring as New Holstein, Kiel and Sheboygan Falls enter spring baseball. Those three, along with Chilton, Brillion and Valders, will all be solid contenders in the new Eastern Wisconsin Conference.